A Rant on The State of the Middle Class and Retirement

Kris (my wife) wrote a great piece about an article I saw that said that a percentage of folks polled said they would rather ” die early” than life through their retirement without enoug money for a comfortable retirement. I don’t know how “early” they wanted to die, but I was shocked to hear that sentiment expressed by so many. Kris wrote a thougtful post that I felt was worth putting on my blog.
Peace, Joel

The Panama Adventure

I think it is common knowledge that many people are going to have a hard time affording a comfortable retirement, and we all know people who plan to work until they drop because they feel they have no other choice. Joel came across an article recently – Middle-Class Americans Living With Regret About Retirement Savings  One line jumped out at me

In a new survey question added this year, 22 percent said they would rather “die early” than live without enough money for a comfortable retirement. 

More than one in five people are afraid they will be so poor that the time will come when life isn’t worth living. What a sad statement.

I can quote more statistics and link to more articles but I don’t think we need convincing that many people are going to retire with less than they think they need, or won’t retire at all. What does…

View original post 665 more words

2 thoughts on “A Rant on The State of the Middle Class and Retirement

Leave a Reply

