*Goodbye, Panama, off to Maine I go…*

It’s official, I’m headed to Maine. No, dear reader, I’m not leaving Panama for good but to help my mother relocate in the Portland, Maine area next month. Portland is the largest city in Maine and is highly ranked for safety and affordable housing along with having many historic sites and of course, beautiful nature in abundance.

She loves Panama but when looking at the big picture it seems that Maine makes more sense at this point in her life.  She has ties to friends and relatives in Maine, the language is English (duh), and an independent living situation may suit her well.

We are all doing the research, emails and phone calls necessary so the transition will hopefully be smoother.

Panama has been good health wise, her doctors have been able to correct some complaints that the US doctors were unable to deal with. It has been a learning experience for all of us, Ma is an adventurer and now it’s off to a new adventure.

I want to thank the folks who made suggestions as for what to write about here in Panama, I’ll work on that as time allows. I feel I should post about the upcoming move since it may be on interest/help to others who have a parent who is in a similar situation.

Keep tuned to the continuing saga…..

Later,

j

9 thoughts on “*Goodbye, Panama, off to Maine I go…*

    • Will do. We’ve already got things boxed up to send back. I am researching independent living and apartments and will call on Monday to various places. I also enrolled at Agingcare.com. It should be interesting to say the least and millions of Boomers will be doing the same if they aren’t already.

  1. Being a genuine Yankee, both sides of my family go back to the early 1600s (they didn’t come over on the Mayflower, but they knew people who did), I can tell you one thing about Maine, for sure. Summers are fabulous there! I heard they had it on a Thursday last year.

  2. I’m also from a Yankee family. I grew up in Saco, Maine and worked several years in Portland. I go back to see my family every summer. I love Maine, love Saco, hate the cold and the winter! Love the summers. I bet your Mom will be very happy in Portland. Good luck to her.

    • Ma was born in Monson and lived in Maine for the first 27 years of her life. Now seems like the time to return, full circle. Thanks for taking the time to comment.

Leave a Reply

